Bruschetta!

Sometimes I hang out with teenagers.

Sometimes I hang out with teenagers for an extended period of time.

Sometimes that extended period of time goes for an entire week.

It’s called summer camp.

And I dig it.

So, once again, I’ll be away for a bit. But I’ll be chillin’ with some lovely people – and I couldn’t think of a better way to spend my week.

However – I didn’t want to leave you all with nothing. I had to give you something to get you through the week. Something simple and rustic. Something bright and in season. Something completely refreshing.

Friends? Harvest those tomatoes… ‘cuz we’re making bruschetta!

That’s right. Tomato-y, basil-y goodness.

Now, here’s the deal. I love food. So much. It’s borderline ridiculous. And I’ve showed you a good amount of treats. But I haven’t shown you all the other (more nourishing) lovelies I adore on a regular basis. So – I will begin to post periodically with some snapshots of what we’re cookin’ up at home along with the recipe to go with it. There won’t be the step by step instructions, but you’ll get first hand reviews of the delights and how it all comes together.

Bruschetta happens to be one of those delights. And I’m proud to share the recipe with you.

It comes from a woman I completely trust in the kitchen, a woman who will knock your socks off with wit, a woman who herds cattle and looks stellar doing it … Ladies and Gents … give a warm welcome to the infamous Ree Drummond. The Pioneer Woman.

This woman will enrich your life to the utmost. For many reasons. But today’s reason is all about marinated tomatoes.

Make this soon, okay? Promise me? It’s really lovely and is faithful to impress. And fabulous to bring to a picnic.

Go grab yourself some fresh tomatoes, a handful of basil and some good quality olive oil and you’ve got yourself a snack. Add a loaf of French bread and you may even have lunch (if you eat this by the bucket load like I do).

Here’s the recipe. Enjoy!

Missy’s Marinated Tomatoes

Prep Time: 4 Hours  |  Difficulty: Easy  |  Servings: 18

1 cup canola oil (I used organic olive oil)
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
4 Tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
freshly ground pepper
3 whole green onions, sliced
1/4 cup chopped parsley
18 whole basil leaves, chiffonade
1/4 teaspoon ground thyme (I used roughly 1/2 Tablespoon fresh minced)
2 cloves garlic, minced finely
2 pounds tomatoes, cut into bite size pieces (I used multi-colored grape and cherry tomatoes)
1 whole baguette, sliced
1 clove garlic, peeled

Combine all ingredients except tomatoes in a large glass bowl. Whisk to combine, then add tomatoes. (You can up the quantity of tomatoes if need be.) Use regular red tomatoes, or a mixture of red, yellow, heirloom, etc. Use different sizes and colors of tomatoes – so pretty!

Allow to marinate for at least 3 to 4 hours, several hours if possible. Tomatoes will give off liquid as they marinate.

Eat straight up or use leftover tomatoes to make bruschetta: slice baguette and brush slices with olive oil. Grill on a skillet or grill pan until golden. Rub slices with garlic cloves. Top with tomatoes, allowing juice to drip on the bread.

Leave a Reply

