Treatsie Tuesdays! (Strawberry Hand Pies)

This morning was sunshiney. This morning was warm. This morning called for strawberry picking.

I tackled Andy while he was snoozing away peacefully. (So very sweet of me.) I smiled at him while he sleepily opened one eye and gave a little grin. “Strawberries?” I say. “Mmmmm… strawberries,” his quiet reply. So I yanked him out of bed, threw him some clothes, donned my bandana, and off we went!

Strawberry fields smell amazing, don’t they? We could smell them from the car. It was unreal.

So – let’s talk about “Treatsie Tuesdays” shall we? Every Tuesday I will be posting a treatsie. Look, I’m big into healthy eating… and I’m equally big into baked goods. Life’s answers have often boiled down to balance. And that’s what I’m looking for here. Good, real, honest food. Some of it exploding with powerful nutrients, some of it bursting with just plain yum.

In honor of this morning’s harvest, I will be making Strawberry Hand Pies. The original recipe came from this month’s issue of Bon Appétit and contained cherries. But since I had an abundance of strawberries and because they are less expensive, I decided to take a swing at swapping fruits. I also lessened the sugar a bit, since strawberries are decidedly sweeter than cherries.

First, gather your ingredients. You’re going to want puff pastry, flour, sugar, berries, dried cherries, vanilla, salt, cornstarch, and an egg.

Next, swirl some water into the cornstarch.

Then, use a knife to lop off the strawberry tops. Andy dislikes when I do this. He says I waste so much strawberry, which I completely agree. It’s just too time consuming for my impatient heart to hull them all triangularly and what not. I just chop it off. And my man comes around to nibble at the remains.

Then, take the berries, the cherries, the vanilla, the salt, and the sugar and toss them into a saucepan. Heat this over medium heat until it’s all juicy and the strawberries are soft. Mash it all up with the back of your spoon.

Slowly add in the cornstarch and swirl it all around. Bring it all to a boil for a few minutes, then take it off the heat. Let it sit until it’s at room temperature.

Lightly flour a clean surface, roll out your dough, and cut it into 9 rectangles.

Listen, I know my dough is a crazy mess. It got defrosted a little too much and was hard to work with. But no dough can beat me – I love the imperfections. And my little corner of dough that is so not a quadrilateral. I love his mis-shapen figure.

Next, make your egg wash and brush the edges of your rectangle (or square, like mine turned out to be) with it.

Then add a bit of the berry goodness.

Fold the dough over and press in the edges. You can also use a fork to seal the edges, just like empanadas!

Line them all up on a parchment lined baking sheet. Cut little slits into the tops to let the air escape. Brush on some egg wash to help them brown up. And sprinkle the tops with just a touch of sugar.

Stick them in the fridge for 30 minutes. Then bake these bad boys up! They’ll come out all oozy-goozy and golden brown. They smell unbelievable. They’re totally messy. And totally worth it.

Don’t do like me and take a scorching bite of hand pie. It’ll burn your tongue. Be patient. I am not.

But do enjoy these lovely little treats. They will make you smile. They will fill your tummy. And they will make you need a napkin.

To make these delightful things, click here and follow the steps! Bon appétit!

One thought on “Treatsie Tuesdays! (Strawberry Hand Pies)

  1. Tuesdays are officially now the most delicious day of the week. Seriously, hand pies are exactly as much fun as they sound like.

    Also, I love her.

Leave a Reply

